The 5+ Club

"The 5+ Club" is designed to recognize institutions that graduate 5 or more physics teachers in a given year. The great majority of institutions graduate less than two physics teachers a year, and the most common number of graduates is zero.1 Thus, graduating 5 or more physics teachers a year is a significant achievement, helping to address the severe national shortage of high school physics teachers.

The 5+ Club Awardees

PhysTEC is pleased to announce the addition of 12 new institutions to The 5+ Club. Awards were announced at the 2016 PhysTEC Conference in Baltimore, MD. We are proud to recognize these institutions for their outstanding contributions to the education of future physics teachers.

Download PDF of press release

Institution Name Number of Graduates

2016 Awardees


Brigham Young University 17
Illinois State University 10
Stony Brook University 8
Boston University 6
Middle Tennessee State University 5
Towson University 5
University of Arkansas 5
West Chester University 5
Western Michigan University 5


Arizona State University 6
University of Central Florida 6
Rowan 5

Previous Awardees


Brigham Young University 17
The College of New Jersey 8
University of Minnesota 7
University of Arkansas 7
Stony Brook University 7
Brigham Young University - Idaho 7
Illinois State University 7
Georgia State University 6
Rutgers University 5
Cal Poly San Luis Obispo 5
Kennesaw State University 5


University of Minnesota 8
SUNY Buffalo State 8
Michigan State University 7
University of Colorado Boulder 6
SUNY Oneonta 6
Rutgers University 6
Virginia Tech 5


SUNY Buffalo State 10
Seattle Pacific University 8
University of Minnesota 7
Rutgers University 6
University of Cinncinati 5
University of Texas at Austin 5
  1. David E. Meltzer, Monica Plisch, and Stamatis Vokos, editors, Transforming the Preparation of Physics Teachers: A Call to Action. A Report by the Task Force on Teacher Education in Physics (T-TEP)(American Physical Society, College Park, MD, 2012).