Affiliate Member Institution University of Education, Winneba

University of Education, Winneba


Kodjo Donkor Taale (Dr.)

University of Education, Winneba Website

If you are from this institution and wish to report data, please login.

The Department of Science Education had four Units; Physics Education, Chemistry Education, Biology Education, & Integrated Science Education, all preparing the various categories of teachers for mostly Senior High Schools, Colleges of Education, Science teacher administrators and to a lesser extent primary school teachers until May 2010.  The Department was then split up into four separate departments: Biology Education; Chemistry Education; Integrated Science Education; and Physics Education, each having a separate administrative structure. All the Departments run the Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree programme for a duration of four (4) years.  The rationale for the split can be summarised as found for the Physics Education programme.


The Physics Unit of the Department of Science Education is growing at a rapid rate. Increase in student enrolment to Physics (major) in the Science Education programme has followed the following trend over the years: 14 students registered in 2005; 15 students registered in 2006; 43 in 2007; and 63 students in 2008. Physics is, therefore, becoming popular with applicants to the Department of Science Education. At the same time it is noted that Physics teachers are scarce in the senior high schools and other pre-tertiary institutions. Thus, the Department of Physics Education has the potential for producing quality physics teachers for the schools. Restructuring of the current Department of Science Education into four different ones with different headships will allow for administrative efficiency. The growing numbers of students and staff are becoming problematic for administration under one headship.

Broad Aims of the Department of Physics Education

The department seeks to provide:

· quality Physics Education programme that will be recognised internationally for its efficiency in producing excellent physics teachers.

· opportunities for students to develop their unique PCKs .

· a conducive atmosphere for interaction between recognised science educationists in an attempt to develop the department into a centre of excellence for science education.

The programme run by the Department of Physics Education will be four (4) academic years, including a one-semester internship.  The first batch of students will graduate in October 2014.

PTEC membership, it is hoped will expose the Department to other innovations in teacher preparation.